Now Accepting Nominations for 

2021 Gardener Recognition Awards


Don’t miss the opportunity to nominate your favorite gardener, or yourself, for the Cincinnati Horticultural Society’s Gardener Recognition Award this year. Residential gardeners, as well as, garden clubs, school gardens, communities, professional landscapers, and businesses may all apply. And, gardens of all styles and sizes are eligible – small, medium, and large or container gardens. Download the form below and return by the July 1, 2021 deadline. Instructions are on the form.

2021 Gardener Recognition Nomination Form


Gardener Recognition Awards 2019 Recipients

Through this program, the Cincinnati Horticultural Society encourages and acknowledges gardeners, communities, and businesses whose contributions to horticulture are an inspiration to all who see it.  Each year individuals are nominated for their garden that is of exceptional beauty in quality and selection of plants and the execution of its design and uniqueness.

There are three categories of gardens reviewed:

Community, Commercial, and Residential 


Special Thanks to our Sponsors

The Kate and Ted Emmerich Family Foundation

Lang Financial

O’Dell Landscaping


Award Recipients 


Judge’s Award

Lynn & Dave Bolte (Bridgetown) – Residential Category


Chairman’s Award

Cindy & Richard Callihan (Montgomery) – Residential Category


Inspirational Award

Verna Kopp (Batesville) – Residential Category


Jerome Eichert Memorial Award

Don & Gail Oeters – Residential Category









2018 Award Winners

Paula Anstaett

Clara Ashcraft

ATP – Chris LaMond

Bianca Beary

Clara Berger

Bonnie & Linda Bishop

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital – College Hill, Horticulture Therapy – Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry – Maggie Adams

Jill King

Lighthouse Community School

Adele Lippert

Susan McCamey

Ginger Mitchell

Dick & Kathy Nocks

Julie Pelle

Joyce & Abe Philip

Nancy & Dick Riedel

Rothenberg School Rooftop Garden

Bill Schmitt

Elizabeth Shely

Sis Winterhalter


Certificate Winners- Residential

Rukiye Abdul Mutakallim

Cary Maish Brodie

Karen Anderson Brown

Emily & Richard Godin

Kara Killen & Kimberlee Gray

Amy Spackman

Fatima & Gary Woster


Certificate Winner- Commercial

Golden Eagle Extrusions Inc. – Jenny Eagle


Certificate Winners- Community

CITYLink Center- Patty Horwitz



2017 Award Winners 

Cynthia Bercaw

Omer and Cecil Berger

Dr. Jon Bossert

Steve Bowling

Gail and Jerold Chuck

City of Cheviot 

Civic Garden Center Community Garden

Cindy Coggins  

City of Fairfield

Federated Garden Clubs

Dr. Grady and Suzanne Gibson

Leslie Gordon

Libby Head

Jim Jordan

John and Lisa Kaising

Andrea Klopfenstein

 Krohn Conservatory

Dianna Laurence

Mc Donalds Restaurant

Norwood Community Garden

Laura Noyes

Belinda and Roger Perna

Dave Radlinski

Julie and Dick Seitz

Doug & Linda Selkirk

Barry Stare

Randy Stephens

Cathy Strasser

Holly and Mark Young


2016 Award Winners 

Kathy and Robert Berninger

Rose Bohan

Iris and Jim Bush

Ginny Clark

Leesa Comparin

Daniel Day

Deborah and Daniel Durham

Tom Fryman

Chris and Gary Grafs

Pat and Don Hinkley

Denise and Mike Holscher

Sandra and Stephen Joffe

Jackie Lahrmer

Kate Lawrence 

Liz and Warren Remle

Pam and Mike Staun

Greg Tulley

Amanda and Guy VanRooyen

Judy and Tom Woods


2016 Certificate Awards -Residential

Susie and Bruce Kohler

Molly and Joey Kueffner

Karen and Todd Majors

Lynn Miller

Janice Ring

Benita and Dave Winters


2016 Certificate Awards – Commercial

Cincinnatus Savings and Loan

Fairfield Taco Bell

West Hills Apartments


2016 Certificate Awards – Community

Chisolm and Butler County Gardeners

East Row Garden Club

Mount Adams Community Garden



2015 Award Winners

Ken & Pam Hilvert

Mark & Linda Eppler

Greg Villena

Tim & Vicki Lighthall

Karen Jetters

Connie Wallace

Sue Ann Vogt

Dr. Edmund Jones

Russ & Donna Welty

Mark & Lindsay Bibler

Del Langenbrunner

Boone County Arboretum

Bonita & Gene Brockert

Doris Niemeyer

Bennett Dowling/ Civic Garden Center

Debbie Burger

Ada Perkins

John & Beverly Cannon

Jack Shelton

Village of Evendale

Alice Eby

Tony Taphorn


2014 Award Winners

Christina Anderson

Beverly Bibent

Karen and Leroy Brothers

Sue Brungs

Bonnie Dixon

Sherry Goodson

Greg Helterbridle

Marie Huenefeld

Larry Huston

Kat Jenkins

Ron Kauffman

Donna McMullin

Bill and Michele Mischler

Sarita Naegel

Our Lady of the Rosary/ Jeff Bossman

Emery Schmidt and Jim Swearingen

Sycamore High School Garden

Trinity Episcopal Church

Kathy and Dick Wayman

Jan Wrassman


2013 Award Winners

Arrowhead Apartments

Libby Bassett

Theodore M. Berry Friendship Park

Tom & Debbie Bosarge

Cabrini Clark-Jacobsen

Cooper Creek Event Center

Cornerstone at Norwood

Chad & Tiffany Fitzsimmons

Brian & Amy Gockerman

Greenacres Foundation

Gary & Dena Gruber

Maryan Hahn

George Knoske

Edgar E. Loyd

Suzanne Merusi

Dr. Lairy W. Miller & Debra Miller

Don & Mary Holtmeier

Bill & Charlotte Moore

Tom & Leslie Mowry

Mark & Nan Plunkett

Procter & Gamble

The Pub at Rookwood

Stanley M. Rowe Arboretum

Stu & Cathy Scheller

Tom & Genny Sedler

Jody Skowronek

Diana Spears-Laurence

Frances Turrell

Dave & Kim Volker


2012 Award Winners

Banana Leaf Modern Thai

Michele & Scott Beuerlein

Katherine & Manfred Bohlke

Connie & Jack Campbell

The Cincinnati Woman’s Club

Jennifer & Robert Conklin

Cecilia & Joe Davis

Jared & Bridget Davis

Elisha Morgan Farm Mansion Heritage Garden

Hammond North Condominium

Karen Freeman

Jack & Vickei Gluckman

Susan & Gary Greiner

Lisa Gross

Janet Helterbridle

Sandy Hickey

Highfield Discovery Garden

Angela Lampe

Sandy & Dick Manteuffel

Jane Mashburn

Greater Milford Events and Arts Council

Carol & Bob Olson

Kathy & Mark Onady

Pelican’s Reef

Kathy & Fred Pfirrmann

Susie Peck & Dan Earls

Melody Sawyer Richardson

Nancy & Tom Shepherd

Susy Spence

St. Johns Unitarian Universalist Church

Betsy & Charles Townsend


2011 Award Winners

James and Vicki Crushman

Bonnie and Rick Doepke

Roy and Michelle Eckart

Granny’s Garden School

Glendale Garden Club/ Rogan Family Garden

Eads Hardware Store

Ed and Marsha Haberer

Michael Hodovanic

James Free Jewelers

Margaret Johnson

The Kenwood by Senior Star

Jane Mashburn

Craig and Debbie Mann

City of Madeira

City of Montgomery

National Exemplar/ Mariemont Inn

Connie Strawser

St. Gabriel Consolidated School

Western Cincinnati Neurological Institute

Pat Zehnder


2010 Award Winners

Jeff Bossman for Camargo Trading Company

Cheryl and Ray Bittman

Jane Butler

Arja Ewing

Afsaneh Fowler

Glendale Village Gardeners for Village of Glendale

Jane and Frank Green

Steve and Barb Groh

Lisa Gross for the Hyde Park Wine Merchant

Ed and Janet Hermes

Helen K. Hoffmann

Village of Loveland

Sue Laing

Village of Mariemont

Jenny Meyers

Dennis Warner and Paula Phillips for Kenwood Country Club

Jay Yasbeck


2009 Award Winners

Steve Beckman

Mary Jane and Gerald Blain

Lee DeRhodes

The late June Edwards

Pat and Chuck Ellsworth

Ivy Kelly

Len Kuertz

Gladys Miller

Kathy and Terry Muldoon

Donald and Beverly Redder

Lana Santavicca

Ginny Tom